Personal tools
You are here: Home Association AAAC Blog
Document Actions

Vote on Amending the Constitution for Charitable Status put forward to all Members

The AAAC is in the process of officially gaining "Charitable Status" in the UK. In order to complete the process a small change to its constitution necessary. We ask all members to cast their vote for the change.

The minor change that is required is the inclusion of an explicit definition of Affective Computing as "the study and development of systems and devices that can recognise, interpret, process, and simulate human affects", see the draft for the resolution to be passed with this vote.
In case the change is approved, the treasurer will proceed to file the amended constitution as part of the application process to the Charity Commission of England and Wales.

New Constitution and new EC members

The new constitution for the, renamed, Association for the Advancement of Affective Computing has been successfully confirmed by a majority of the members and has therefore been adopted. We have also recently concluded the biannual elections of new members of the Executive Committee.

Vote on New Constitution put forward to all members

The Executive Committee of the AAAC has voted in favour of adopting a new constitution. Now all members can cast their vote.

Details regarding the new constitution:


Vote on New Constitution

The AAAC is voting to adopt a new constitution. Currently, the members of the Executive Committee can cast their vote.

Details regarding the new constition:


Management Board in place

The HUMAINE Association now has a management board, nominated by its executive committee:

  • President: Roddy Cowie
  • President-elect: Jonathan Gratch
  • Secretary: Catherine Pelachaud
  • Portal Editor: Marc Schröder

The election of the management board was overseen by the executive committee members Kostas Karpouzis and Nick Campbell.

This structure now being in place, expect the Association to get moving soon! :-)

Election results

The results of the election to the first Executive committee were communicated to all members of the HUMAINE Association by email on the 14 September 2007. For completeness and ease of reference in the future, they are reproduced below.

Results of the election to the HUMAINE Association Executive Committee

Name            Votes    Election period
Roddy Cowie        50    6 years
Catherine Pelachaud    43   
Jonathan Gratch        38   
Paolo Petta        38
Nick Campbell        37    4 years
Jean-Claude Martin    37   
Jianhua Tao        36   
Fiorella de Rosis    35   
Helmut Prendinger    34   
Kostas Karpouzis    31
Laurence Devillers    30    2 years
Ginevra Castellano    29   
Maja Pantic        26   
James Lester        26   
Björn Schuller        24   

Ian Sneddon        21    (-)
Dirk Reichardt        14   
Some statistics:           
Electorate:    97    Members of the HUMAINE Association   
Votes        55    (46 paper ballots, 9 e-ballots)   
participation    57%       
invalid ballots    0       
The candidates on position 5 and 6 have the same number of votes – a draw.  The election procedure (published on the website and printed on the ballots) states: “If there is a draw, both candidates will serve for the smaller number of years.”  For this reason, there are four candidates elected for six years, and six candidates elected for four years.           
The election supervisor           
Marc Schröder, 14 September 2007           


Online elections started

The online elections for the HUMAINE Association Executive Committee have now started:

The election closes on Thursday 13 September 2007, 16:00 UTC.
Powered by Plone

Portal usage statistics